Bill Filed to Delay Marijuana Amendment Implementation

January 27, 2017 | Posted in Marijuana | By

Sen. Jason Rapert (R-Conway) has filed legislation delaying implementation of the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment until marijuana has been legalized at the federal level.

Currently, the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment orders the State of Arkansas to begin authorizing and allowing the “medical” use of marijuana despite the fact that marijuana cultivation, sales, and possession are illegal under federal law. S.B. 238 delays the “medical marijuana” program in Arkansas until marijuana’s legal status changes under federal law.

Right now there is no question Arkansas’ marijuana amendment and related laws and programs blatantly violate federal law. Sen. Rapert’s bill puts these programs on hold until federal law changes, making it possible for Arkansas to move forward with a marijuana program that does not fundamentally violate laws established by Congress.

You can read S.B. 238 here.

Pro-Life Bill Headed to Governor’s Desk

January 27, 2017 | Posted in Abortion | By

Yesterday the Arkansas Senate passed H.B. 1032, the Dismemberment Abortion Ban.

H.B. 1032 generally prohibits D&E and sharp curettage abortion procedures in which a living, unborn baby is violently dismembered.

Below is a breakdown of the vote.

Voted for H.B. 1032:

Bledsoe Caldwell E. Cheatham A. Clark Collins-Smith J. Dismang
L. Eads J. English Flippo T. Garner J. Hendren Hester
Hickey J. Hutchinson Irvin B. Johnson Maloch Rapert
Rice B. Sample D. Sanders G. Stubblefield Teague D. Wallace
E. Williams

Voted Against H.B. 1032:

Bond L. Chesterfield Elliott S. Flowers K. Ingram U. Lindsey


Arkansas House Passes Dismemberment Abortion Ban

January 23, 2017 | Posted in Abortion | By

This afternoon the Arkansas House of Representatives passed a good, pro-life bill that bans some abortion procedures.

H.B. 1032 generally prohibits D&E and sharp curettage abortion procedures in which a living, unborn baby is violently dismembered. The bill passed the House Public Health Committee last week. Today it was passed by the entire House of Representatives.

From here the bill will go to the Arkansas Senate. You can read the text of H.B. 1032 here.

Below is a breakdown of how the Arkansas House of Representatives voted.

Voted For H.B. 1032 (78 Representatives):

Ballinger Baltz Barker Beck Bentley Boyd
Bragg Branscum Brown Capp Cavenaugh Coleman
Collins Cozart Dalby Davis Deffenbaugh Della Rosa
Dotson D. Douglas C. Douglas Drown Eaves Eubanks
Farrer L. Fite Fortner Gates Gazaway Gonzales
M. Gray Hammer Henderson K. Hendren Hillman G. Hodges
Holcomb Hollowell House Jean Jett Ladyman
Lemons Lowery Lundstrum Lynch Maddox Magie
A. Mayberry McCollum McElroy McNair D. Meeks S. Meeks
Miller Peyton Penzo Petty Pilkington Pitsch
Richey Richmond Rushing Rye Shepherd B. Smith
Sorvillo Speaks Sturch Sullivan Tosh Vaught
Wardlaw Warren Watson J. Williams Wing Womack

Voted Against H.B. 1032 (10 Representatives):

Blake D. Ferguson V. Flowers M.J. Gray Love Nicks
Sabin Tucker Walker D. Whitaker

Voted “Present” (2 Representatives):

Burch M. Hodges

Did Not Vote (10 Representatives):

F. Allen E. Armstrong K. Ferguson Fielding C. Fite Johnson
Leding G. McGill Murdock Mr. Speaker