This afternoon the Arkansas House of Representatives passed S.B. 340 by Sen. Jeremy Hutchinson (R-Little Rock) and Rep. Aaron Pilkington (R-Clarksville).

This good, pro-life bill prevents parents from suing doctors or hospitals for “wrongful birth.”

In other states, parents have filed “wrongful birth” lawsuits claiming their son or daughter should have been aborted.

S.B. 340 helps ensures our laws treat human life with respect and dignity and that no one is able to argue in court that a child should have been aborted.

The bill now goes to Governor Hutchinson to be signed into law.

Below is a breakdown of how the Arkansas House of Representatives voted on S.B 340.

Voted FOR S.B. 340 (82) Representatives

E. Armstrong Ballinger Baltz Barker Beck Bentley
Boyd Bragg Branscum Brown Burch Capp
Cavenaugh Coleman Collins Cozart Dalby Davis
Deffenbaugh Della Rosa Dotson D. Douglas C. Douglas Drown
Eaves Eubanks Farrer D. Ferguson C. Fite L. Fite
Fortner Gazaway Gonzales M. Gray M.J. Gray Hammer
Henderson K. Hendren Hillman M. Hodges G. Hodges Holcomb
Hollowell House Jean Jett Ladyman Leding
Lemons Lowery Lundstrum Lynch Maddox Magie
A. Mayberry McCollum McElroy McNair D. Meeks S. Meeks
Miller Payton Penzo Petty Pilkington Pitsch
Richmond Rushing Rye Shepherd B. Smith Sorvillo
Speaks Sturch Sullivan Tosh Tucker Wardlaw
Warren Watson Wing Womack

Voted AGAINST S.B. 340 (6 Representatives)

V. Flowers Love G. McGill Murdock Walker D. Whitaker

Did Not Vote (12 Representatives)

F. Allen Blake K. Ferguson Fielding Gates Johnson
Nicks Richey Sabin Vaught J. Williams Mr. Speaker