This afternoon the Arkansas House of Representatives passed S.B. 148, the Born-Alive Infant Protection Act by Sen. Gary Stubblefield (R-Branch) and Rep. Charlene Fite (R-Van Buren).

This bill protects babies born alive following an abortion procedure. It requires doctors to provide nourishment, medical treatment, and emergency care for a baby born alive after an abortion.

In other states we have heard horror stories about living, breathing babies being left to die or being denied care after an abortion. S.B. 148 helps prevent that from happening in Arkansas.

Out of the entire Arkansas House, only one representative voted against the bill: Rep. David Whitaker (D-Fayetteville).

Eighty-four representatives voted for it, and fifteen did not vote for one reason or another.

S.B. 148 now goes to Governor Hutchinson’s desk. You can see a breakdown of the vote in the Arkansas House below.

Voted FOR S.B. 148 (84 Representatives)

E. Armstrong Ballinger Baltz Barker Beck Bentley
Boyd Bragg Branscum Brown Burch Capp
Cavenaugh Coleman Collins Cozart Dalby Davis
Deffenbaugh Della Rosa Dotson D. Douglas C. Douglas Drown
Eaves Eubanks Farrer D. Ferguson C. Fite L. Fite
Fortner Gazaway Gonzales M. Gray M.J. Gray Hammer
Henderson K. Hendren Hillman M. Hodges G. Hodges Holcomb
Hollowell House Jean Jett Ladyman Leding
Lemons Lowery Lundstrum Lynch Maddox Magie
A. Mayberry McCollum McElroy McNair D. Meeks S. Meeks
Miller Nicks Payton Penzo Petty Pilkington
Pitsch Richmond Rushing Rye Sabin Shepherd
B. Smith Sorvillo Speaks Sturch Sullivan Tosh
Tucker Wardlaw Warren Watson Wing Womack

Voted AGAINST S.B. 148 (1 Representative)

D. Whitaker

Did Not Vote (15 Representatives)

F. Allen Blake K. Ferguson Fielding V. Flowers Gates
Johnson Love G. McGill Murdock Richey Vaught
Walker J. Williams Mr. Speaker