A new bill filed at the Arkansas Legislature would help prevent China, North Korea, Russia, and Iran from purchasing property in Arkansas.

H.B. 1255 by Rep. Wade Andrews (R – Camden) and Sen. Steve Crowell (R – Magnolia) prohibits governmental entities of China, Iran, North Korea, or Russia from purchasing real property in Arkansas.

The bill also applies to companies or entities that are headquartered in those countries, directly or indirectly controlled by the governments of those countries, or owned or controlled by citizens of those countries.

We have written in the past about concerns over the Chinese Communist Party acquiring farmland in the U.S.

According to the USDA, approximately 1.1 million acres of agricultural land in Arkansas is foreign held.

Most of that property belongs to entities from Canada, Netherlands, Germany, Italy, and the United Kingdom.

Arkansas Act 1046 of 2021 generally requires foreign landowners to file reports with the Arkansas Department of Agriculture.

H.B. 1255 would help prohibit China, North Korea, Iran, and Russia from owning land in Arkansas at all.

You Can Read The Bill Here.

Articles appearing on this website are written with the aid of Family Council’s researchers and writers.