Governor Signs Two Good Bills Into Law

Gov. Hutchinson signs legislation in this file photo from 2015.

Last week Gov. Asa Hutchinson signed two really good bills into law.

The first was S.B. 354 protecting fairness in women’s sports.

It prevents biological males who identify as female from competing in women’s athletics at school. It is now Act 461 of 2021.

The second is S.B. 289 protecting healthcare workers’ rights of conscience.

It prevents healthcare workers in Arkansas from being forced to perform medical procedures that violate their deeply held convictions. It is now Act 462 of 2021.

These are two really great pieces of legislation that Family Council strongly supports.

We are grateful to Arkansas’ lawmakers for passing these good bills, and we are grateful to Gov. Hutchinson for signing them into law.

This year the Arkansas Legislature has passed several laws promoting, protecting, and strengthening traditional family values. Arkansans should be proud of their elected officials for supporting such good legislation.

Arkansas Senate Passes Several Good Measures

On Thursday afternoon the Arkansas Senate passed several good measures.

The senators voted to give final approval to S.B. 289 protecting healthcare workers’ rights of conscience. The senate previously approved this bill, but had to vote to concur in amendments that the Arkansas House of Representatives made last week. The bill now goes to Governor Hutchinson.

The Arkansas Senate also passed S.B. 474. This good bill by Sen. Charles Beckham (R – McNeil) and Rep. Jimmy Gazaway (R – Paragould) prohibits fraud and abuse in fertility treatments. The bill ensures people performing fertility treatments are honest, ethical, and abide by principles of informed-consent. The bill passed with overwhelming support with 33 votes.

The senate also passed S.B. 463. This good bill by Sen. Blake Johnson (R – Corning) and Rep. Tony Furman (R – Benton) requires the State of Arkansas to provide abortion data to the federal Centers for Disease Control for statistical purposes. It also tightens Arkansas law concerning abortion facility inspections, and it requires abortionists to file certain documentation when the woman is a victim of rape or incest. Read The Bill Here.

Below is a breakdown of the vote on S.B. 463.

Voted FOR S.B. 463

  • B. Ballinger
  • Beckham
  • Bledsoe
  • A. Clark
  • B. Davis
  • L. Eads
  • J. English
  • Flippo
  • T. Garner
  • Gilmore
  • K. Hammer
  • J. Hendren
  • Hester
  • Hickey
  • Hill
  • M. Johnson
  • B. Johnson
  • M. Pitsch
  • Rapert
  • Rice
  • B. Sample
  • G. Stubblefield
  • J. Sturch
  • D. Sullivan
  • Teague
  • D. Wallace

Voted Against S.B. 463

  • L. Chesterfield
  • Elliott
  • S. Flowers
  • K. Ingram
  • G. Leding
  • C. Tucker

Excused From Voting

  • J. Dismang
  • Irvin

Did Not Vote


See How Your State Rep. Voted on Protecting Rights of Conscience

Yesterday the Arkansas House of Representatives passed S.B. 289, the Medical Ethics and Diversity Act.

This good bill by by Sen. Kim Hammer (R – Benton) and Rep. Brandt Smith (R – Jonesboro) protects healthcare workers’ rights of conscience in Arkansas.

Family Council has worked with state lawmakers for the past several years to come up with good legislation that will protect healthcare providers from being forced to perform procedures that violate their deeply held convictions.

S.B. 289 will give doctors, nurses, physician assistants, and others protections for their rights of conscience.

S.B. 289 passed the Arkansas House of Representatives by a vote of 72 to 20. Below is a breakdown of the vote.

The Following Representatives Voted FOR S.B. 289

  • Barker
  • Beatty Jr.
  • Beck
  • Bentley
  • S. Berry
  • M. Berry
  • Boyd
  • Bragg
  • Breaux
  • Brooks
  • Brown
  • Bryant
  • Carr
  • Cavenaugh
  • Cloud
  • Coleman
  • C. Cooper
  • Cozart
  • Crawford
  • M. Davis
  • Deffenbaugh
  • Dotson
  • Eaves
  • Eubanks
  • Evans
  • L. Fite
  • Fortner
  • Furman
  • Gazaway
  • Gonzales
  • M. Gray
  • Haak
  • Hawks
  • Hillman
  • Holcomb
  • Hollowell
  • Jean
  • L. Johnson
  • Ladyman
  • Lowery
  • Lundstrum
  • Lynch
  • Maddox
  • J. Mayberry
  • McClure
  • McCollum
  • M. McElroy
  • McGrew
  • McKenzie
  • McNair
  • S. Meeks
  • Miller
  • Milligan
  • Payton
  • Penzo
  • Pilkington
  • Ray
  • Richmond
  • Rye
  • Slape
  • B. Smith
  • S. Smith
  • Speaks
  • Tollett
  • Tosh
  • Underwood
  • Wardlaw
  • Warren
  • Watson
  • Wing
  • Womack
  • Wooten

The Following Representatives Voted Against S.B. 289

  • F. Allen
  • Christiansen
  • Clowney
  • A. Collins
  • Ennett
  • D. Ferguson
  • Fielding
  • V. Flowers
  • D. Garner
  • Godfrey
  • M. Hodges
  • Hudson
  • Jett
  • Love
  • Magie
  • McCullough
  • Nicks
  • Richardson
  • Scott
  • D. Whitaker

The Following Representatives Did Not Vote

  • Dalby
  • K. Ferguson
  • C. Fite
  • Murdock
  • Perry
  • Shepherd
  • Springer
  • Vaught