Legislature Passes Bill Clarifying Penalties for Doctors Who Perform Illegal Chemical Abortions

On Wednesday the Arkansas House of Representatives passed a pro-life bill addressing abortion-inducing drugs in Arkansas.

S.B. 463 by Sen. Ben Gilmore (R – Crossett) and Rep. Mindy McAlindon (R – Centerton) clarifies that the State Medical Board will revoke the license of a physician that violates Arkansas’ laws against abortion-inducing drugs.

The bill will help ensure that physicians in Arkansas face professional penalties if they break the state’s pro-life laws.

The bill previously passed in the state senate. It now goes to Gov. Sanders to become law.

Lawmakers Pass Good Bill Concerning Pro-Life Cities, Counties in Arkansas

On Wednesday the Arkansas House of Representatives passed a bill to help expand Pro-Life political subdivisions in Arkansas.

S.B. 446 by Sen. Joshua Bryant (R – Rogers) and Rep. Kendon Underwood (R – Cave Springs) builds on Arkansas’ law that lets cities and counties pass Pro-Life resolutions.

Act 392 of 2021 affirms that cities and counties can designate themselves as Pro-Life. To date, nearly half of all Arkansans live in a Pro-Life City or Pro-Life County.

S.B. 446 expands this 2021 law so that any political subdivision of the state can declare itself to be Pro-Life — not just a city or a county.

Now that the U.S. Supreme Court has reversed Roe v. Wade and abortion is generally prohibited in Arkansas, citizens and their elected officials need to establish exactly where they stand when it comes to protecting innocent human life.

S.B. 446 is a good bill that will help communities do exactly that.

The bill previously passed the Arkansas Senate. S.B. 446 now goes to Gov. Sanders to become law.

Arkansas Legislature Passes Bill to Keep Pro-Abortion Groups Out of Public Schools

On Wednesday the Arkansas House of Representatives passed a measure that will help keep pro-abortion groups out of Arkansas’ public schools.

S.B. 466 by Sen. Jim Dotson (R – Bentonville) and Rep. Sonia Barker (R – Smackover) says that a public school or open-enrollment public charter school shall not knowingly enter into any type of transaction with an individual or entity that offers or provides abortion referrals.

Arkansas law already prevents schools from contracting with organizations that perform abortions.

Now that Arkansas generally prohibits abortion except to save the life of the mother, state law needs to clarify that public schools won’t contract with pro-abortion groups like Planned Parenthood that refer women to abortion facilities out of state.

S.B. 466 is a good bill that will help keep public schools from working with pro-abortion organizations in Arkansas.

The Arkansas Senate already has passed this good bill. S.B. 466 now goes to Gov. Sanders to become law.

The Following Representatives Voted For S.B. 466

  • Achor
  • Andrews
  • Barker
  • Beaty Jr.
  • Beck
  • M. Berry
  • S. Berry
  • Breaux
  • Brooks
  • K. Brown
  • M. Brown
  • Burkes
  • Joey Carr
  • John Carr
  • Cavenaugh
  • C. Cooper
  • Cozart
  • Crawford
  • Dalby
  • Duffield
  • Duke
  • Eaves
  • Eubanks
  • Evans
  • C. Fite
  • L. Fite
  • Furman
  • Gazaway
  • Gonzales
  • Gramlich
  • Haak
  • Hawk
  • D. Hodges
  • G. Hodges
  • Holcomb
  • Hollowell
  • Jean
  • L. Johnson
  • Ladyman
  • Long
  • Lundstrum
  • Lynch
  • Maddox
  • J. Mayberry
  • McAlindon
  • McClure
  • McCollum
  • M. McElroy
  • McGrew
  • B. McKenzie
  • McNair
  • S. Meeks
  • Milligan
  • J. Moore
  • K. Moore
  • Nicks
  • Painter
  • Pearce
  • Pilkington
  • Puryear
  • Ray
  • Richmond
  • Rose
  • Rye
  • Schulz
  • R. Scott Richardson
  • Steimel
  • Tosh
  • Underwood
  • Unger
  • Vaught
  • Walker
  • Wardlaw
  • Warren
  • Watson
  • Wing
  • Womack
  • Wooldridge
  • Wooten

The Following Voted Against S.B. 466

  • F. Allen
  • Clowney
  • A. Collins
  • Ennett
  • D. Ferguson
  • V. Flowers
  • D. Garner
  • Hudson
  • McCullough
  • Scott
  • T. Shephard
  • Springer
  • D. Whitaker

The Following Voted “Present”

  • Perry

The Following Did Not Vote

  • Bentley
  • K. Ferguson
  • Fortner
  • Magie
  • Miller
  • J. Richardson
  • Mr. Speaker