Rep. Charlie Collins (R-Fayetteville) and Sen. Missy Irvin (R-Mountain View) have filed a bill prohibiting abortions performed due to the baby’s sex.

H.B. 1434 requires a doctor performing an abortion to first ask the woman if she know’s the baby’s sex, and inform her it is illegal to perform an abortion based on the baby’s sex.

According to our research, eight states currently have laws prohibiting sex-selection abortions:

  • Illinois
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Arizona
  • Kansas
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota

Pennsylvania’s and Illinois’ laws have been on the books since the 1980’s. Arizona’s law passed in 2011, and it has survived multiple court challenges.

In some countries and cultures, unborn girls are more likely to be aborted than unborn boys. No baby should be killed because of his or her sex. H.B. 1434 is a good bill that reinforces the sanctity of human life and the dignity of unborn children.

You can read the bill here.