This week a good bill that prohibits the manufacture or sale of marijuana “edibles”—food or drink infused with marijuana—failed to pass the Arkansas Senate.

The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment currently lets companies manufacture and sell foods—like candy and cookies—or drinks infused with marijuana. These marijuana edibles often contain extremely concentrated levels of marijuana and are routinely sending people in other states to emergency rooms.

S.B. 333 lets medical marijuana users and caregivers mix marijuana with food or drink at home, but it prevents companies from manufacturing or selling marijuana edibles in Arkansas. It’s a good, commonsense bill that protects people from dangerous marijuana products.

However, the bill failed to clear the Arkansas Senate. The bill needed twenty-four votes to pass. It received fifteen.

Here are the senators who voted for S.B. 333:

  • Sen. Cecile Bledsoe (R-Rogers)
  • Sen. Eddie Cheatham (D-Crossett)
  • Sen. Linda Collins-Smith (R-Pocahontas)
  • Sen. John Cooper (R-Jonesboro)
  • Sen. Trent Garner (R-El Dorado)
  • Sen. Bart Hester (R-Cave Springs)
  • Sen. Missy Irvin (R-Mountain View)
  • Sen. Bryan King (R-Green Forest)
  • Sen. Bruce Maloch (D-Magnolia)
  • Sen. Jason Rapert (R-Conway)
  • Sen. Terry Rice (R-Waldron)
  • Sen. David Sanders (R-Little Rock)
  • Sen. Gary Stubblefield (R-Branch)
  • Sen. Larry Teague (D-Nashville)
  • Sen. Eddie Joe Williams (R-Cabot)

Here are the senators who voted against S.B. 333:

  • Sen. Will Bond (D-Little Rock)
  • Sen. Linda Chesterfield (D-Little Rock)
  • Sen. Alan Clark (R-Lonsdale)
  • Sen. Joyce Elliot (D-Little Rock)
  • Sen. Jake Files (R-Fort Smith)
  • Sen. Stephanie Flowers (D-Pine Bluff)
  • Sen. Jimmy Hickey (R-Texarkana)
  • Sen. Jeremy Hutchinson (R-Little Rock)
  • Sen. Keith Ingram (D-West Memphis)
  • Sen. Uvalde Lindsey (D-Fayetteville)
  • Sen. David Wallace (R-Leachville)

Here are the senators who did not vote on S.B. 333:

  • Sen. Ron Caldwell (R-Wynne)
  • Sen. Jonathan Dismang (R-Beebe)
  • Sen. Lance Eads (R-Springdale)
  • Sen. Jane English (R-North Little Rock)
  • Sen. Scott Flippo (R-Bull Shoals)
  • Sen. Jim Hendren (R-Gravette)
  • Sen. Blake Johnson (R-Corning)
  • Sen. Bill Sample (R-Hot Springs)
  • Sen. Greg Standridge (R-Russellville)