March 1, 2011 | Posted in Legislature | By

HB1369, by Rep. Shepherd, creates a back-to-school sales-tax holiday. Many states—including nearly all of Arkansas’ bordering states—have an annual tax holiday of some kind for back-to-school supplies.  This bill would add Arkansas to that list.

The bill is predicted to go to the Senate Revenue & Tax Committee this week. There are a lot of rumors going around that some of the senators on that committee may have already decided to vote against the bill.

This is a good bill that will help alleviate some of the financial burden Arkansas families face every August, when they’re kids go back to school. If your senator is on the Revenue & Tax Committee, please call and leave a message asking him or her to support HB1369. You can leave a message by calling 501-682-2902.

The following senators are on the Revenue & Tax Committee:

Sen. Teague
Senator Larry Teague
Phone 870-845-5303
Email Larry.Teague@senate.ar.gov

Sen. Lamoureux
Senator Michael Lamoureux
Phone 479-968-7300
Email Michael.Lamoureux@senate.ar.gov

Sen. Taylor
Senator Jerry Taylor
Phone 870-879-3233
Email Jerry.Taylor@senate.ar.gov

Sen. Bookout
Senator Paul Bookout
Phone 870-932-6662

Sen. Chesterfield
Senator Linda Chesterfield
Phone 501-888-1859
Email Linda.Chesterfield@senate.ar.gov

Sen. Files
Senator Jake Files
Phone 479-650-6899
Email Jake.Files@Senate.ar.gov

Sen. Sample
Senator Bill Sample
Phone 501-321-0040
Email Bill.Sample@senate.ar.gov

Sen. Williams
Senator Eddie Joe Williams
Phone 501-286-9366
Email EddieJoe.Williams@senate.ar.gov

Jerry is the founder and president of Family Council. He began Family Council in 1989 after a successful effort to amend the Arkansas Constitution to prevent the use of public funds for abortions. He and his wife reside in Little Rock. They have four sons.