On Tuesday the Senate Agriculture Committee unanimously passed a bill that would prohibit Delta-8 THC under state law.

S.B. 358 by Sen. Tyler Dees (R – Siloam Springs) and Rep. Jimmy Gazaway (R – Paragould) would prevent Delta-8 THC from being manufactured via industrial hemp, and it would place Delta-8, Delta-9, and Delta-10 THC on the list of controlled substances in state law.

THC is the primary psychoactive substance found in marijuana.

State and federal laws generally prohibit Delta-9 THC, which has led some people to argue that other variants of THC — such as Delta-8 THC — are somehow legal under state or federal law.

Delta-8 THC is a mind-altering substance, and Arkansas law does not adequately prohibit it.

S.B. 358 is a good bill that will clarify Arkansas’ drug laws and help protect children from dangerous marijuana products.

The bill now goes to the entire Arkansas Senate for consideration.

Read S.B. 358 Here.