On Wednesday the Arkansas Senate passed a bill that would prohibit Delta-8 THC in Arkansas.

S.B. 358 by Sen. Tyler Dees (R – Siloam Springs) and Rep. Jimmy Gazaway (R – Paragould) would prevent Delta-8 THC from being manufactured or sold by placing it and other psychoactive drugs made from cannabis on the list of controlled substances in state law.

Delta-8 THC is a mind-altering substance made from cannabis, and Arkansas law does not adequately prohibit it.

S.B. 358 also contains language enacting drug restrictions that would take effect if a state or federal court someday blocked Arkansas from prohibiting Delta-8 altogether.

The bill now goes to the Arkansas House of Representatives for consideration.

The Following Senators Voted For S.B. 358

  • J. Boyd
  • J. Bryant
  • Caldwell
  • L. Chesterfield
  • A. Clark
  • Crowell
  • B. Davis
  • Dees
  • J. Dismang
  • J. Dotson
  • J. English
  • Flippo
  • Gilmore
  • K. Hammer
  • Hester
  • Hickey
  • Hill
  • Irvin
  • B. Johnson
  • M. Johnson
  • B. King
  • F. Love
  • M. McKee
  • R. Murdock
  • J. Payton
  • C. Penzo
  • J. Petty
  • Rice
  • Stone
  • G. Stubblefield
  • D. Sullivan
  • C. Tucker
  • D. Wallace

The Following Senator Voted Against S.B. 358

  • G. Leding

The Following Senator Voted “Present” on S.B. 358

  • S. Flowers